LEICESTER, LEICESTERSHIRE AND RUTLAND POLICE AND CRIME PANEL – 31 JANUARY 2018

APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT CO-OPTED MEMBERS OF THE POLICE AND CRIME PANEL

REPORT OF THE PANEL'S SECRETARIAT

Purpose of Report

1. To provide Members with details of the recruitment process which took place for Independent Members of the Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland Police and Crime Panel, and introduce the two persons that were appointed.

Background

- 2. The Police Reform and Social Responsibility Act 2011 (the Act) requires Police and Crime Panels to have at least two non-political independent members. The Act also states that in making these appointments the Panel must ensure the overall Panel membership meets the balanced appointment objective in terms of having the skills, knowledge and experience necessary to discharge its functions effectively.
- 3. The requirements of the Act are reflected in the Terms of Reference of the Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland Police and Crime Panel which state at Section 2, Paragraph 9:

The Panel shall co-opt two independent members on to the Panel for a term of 4 years commencing at the mid-way point in the Police and Crime Commissioner's term of office, with a view to ensuring the Panel has the necessary skills, knowledge and experience to carry out its functions.

- 4. Colonel Robert Martin and Mrs Helen Carter served as the Panel's Independent Members from the Panel's inception until December 2017.
- 5. At the meeting of the Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland Police and Crime Panel on 3 October 2017 a decision was made to commence a new recruitment process and stagger the term of office of the independent members so that the term was not coterminous with that of the PCC (The Panel's Terms of Reference were therefore amended in accordance with this decision). It was agreed that an Appointment Panel be set up to comprise of one member from Leicester City Council, one member from Rutland County Council, and one member from the County of Leicestershire.

Recruitment process

6. A media release was sent out to all local and regional media advertising the vacancies, which generated stories in the Leicester Mercury, Loughborough

Echo, Coalville Times, Harborough Mail and Local Rock newsletter. Adverts were also posted on social media such as LinkedIn, Facebook, and Twitter.

- 7. The vacancies were also advertised on the Leicestershire County Council website.
- 8. As a result of the publicity the Panel's Secretariat received 59 requests for application forms and 12 completed applications were received.
- 9. On 1 December 2017 a sub-committee of Panel members comprising of Councillor Lee Breckon (Blaby District Council), Councillor Ratilal Govind (Leicester City Council) and Councillor Alan Walters (Rutland County Council) conducted a shortlisting process and selected 5 candidates for interview. On 8 December those 5 candidates undertook a formal interview. The applicants were assessed against the following selection criteria as recommended in the Local Government Association guidance on appointing Independent Members:
 - The ability to think strategically;
 - The ability to make good judgements;
 - The ability to be objective;
 - The ability to be supportive;
 - The ability to scrutinise and challenge;
 - The ability to be analytical;
 - The ability to communicate effectively.
- 10. Following the interviews the Appointment Panel made the decision to appoint two of those candidates Mr Keith Culverwell and Ms Mehrunnisa Lalani as Independent Members of the Panel. Their term of office will run from 1 January 2018 until 31 December 2021.

The appointed candidates

11. Mr Keith Culverwell

Mr Culverwell resides in Knighton, Leicester and is a retired former Headteacher at The Hall School, Glenfield. Prior to working in education Mr Culverwell was a Church of England Minister.

12. Ms Mehrunnisa Lalani

Ms Lalani resides in Groby, Leicestershire and is the Director of Sara Leicester Ltd. She has worked in a range of public sector organisations and for 10 years was Director of Inclusion for the Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA), She holds a number of public appointments and is also non-executive director of the Heart of England Foundation Trust, a member of a Pay Review Body for Doctors and Dentists, a Lay Adjudicator and member of the Fitness to Practice Panel of the British Association of Counselling and Psychotherapy (BACP) and was formerly a Lay Board member of Leicester City Clinical Commissioning Group.

Recommendations

13. The Panel is asked to note the report.

Officer to Contact:

Euan Walters, Senior Democratic Services Officer Leicestershire County Council Tel: 0116 305 6226 Email: Euan.Walters@leics.gov.uk This page is intentionally left blank